Wanna Play With Me?

by Jase

The other day I was at my friend Jon’s house and we were sitting around trying to figure out what to do.  Leaving the room he came back with a soccer ball in his hand and said, “Come on, we’re playing soccer.”

Surprised, I didn’t know how to respond.  The last time I had played soccer was a couple years ago when I was at an orphanage in Honduras.

“With who?”  I responded.

“Just us.  We’re just kicking the ball around.  It’ll be fun.”

So we did.  We went out into his yard and kicked the soccer ball around for at least an hour.  And you know what?  It was really fun.

I had actually just noticed my own soccer ball sitting on the floor of my closet and I had thought how it has been very neglected.  The thing is, I have a lot of different sports stuff that I haven’t used in a long time.  All my friends ever do anymore is invite me to watch movies or go out to eat.  Why is that?  Why have we stopped playing?  Is it because we are growing up?

As I observe the few young children I know, I am sad to say that I don’t think it is just me and my friends.  Of course these children are more active and play more games than me and my friends, but more and more they are spending time sitting in front of televisions.  With PS3, X-Box, Wii, and all that other junk, there is tons of entertainment to be had without ever leaving the house.

I am not judging because–as I said–all I really do most of the time is watch a lot of movies.  But most of the time I find myself sitting back and thinking about how boring it really is.

Last summer I had a big water fight party for my friends Ivan and Andrew.  There was probably twenty or so people running around with water guns and water balloons.  That was some real fun.  Most of us probably hadn’t played like that for years.  I don’t know why we don’t do stuff like that more often.

Jon and I were talking about this while we played soccer.  I said we should play football sometime.  He liked the idea.  We decided that we’ll have to start doing more actual fun stuff like that.  Hopefully we actually stick to our decision.  Neither of us have ever been much good at sports, but I guess that’s all part of the fun.

