What I’ve Learned

by Jase

People often come back from their trips to third world countries–myself included–and talk about how they have realized what is important in life.  The things we say usually have something to do with attitude, family, relationships, etc.  Like I said, that has been me before.

However, after spending these past four months in South America, I have to say my priorities have really changed.  Yes, I have finally realized that one of the most important things in the world, is stuff.  Yes, stuff is important.  Image is important.  Money is important.

I’m not saying that these things are more important than family, friends, and health, but right past those three things; stuff is a close number four.  Of course you can be perfectly happy without an Iphone, nice clothes, expensive sun glasses, and such; but you might just be able to be a little happier with them.

I have realized that back home in the USA I lived my life denying myself of a lot of things, and needlessly as well.  So, when I return to the states in May; I have vowed to change.  Perhaps I sound ridiculously selfish right about now.  But you know what?  Maybe I’m a selfish person.

Happiness.

