Being a Photographer

by Jason

Yesterday, six rolls of film that I had  shot on Sunday got ruined.

It wasn’t my fault.  It wasn’t really anyone’s fault.  I retrieved the TMAX-RS developer from the Lab Assistant working at the Dark Room and developed my film properly.

The problem was that somehow, the developer wasn’t developer and my film came out completely clear; nothing.

I was exhausted and I didn’t really even feel angry.  There was a lot of good reasons to be angry.  It was 120 film so each roll cost about $6.  Plus there were the hours of time I spent in the studio shoot and the time I spent developing; all essentially just wasted time.

So I went to sleep.

The film was for an assignment in which I am required to shoot either 20 rolls of 35 mm film or 40 rolls of 12o film.  These were the first 6 rolls.

When I woke up I realized I wanted to change my project.  I suddenly had the best and most provocative idea I had had yet in brainstorming for this extensive project.

Six rolls of film are gone.  Hours are gone.  Money is gone.  But I have an incredible idea now, one that I am truly excited about.

Here is to failure my friends!

