Reading the Koran

by Jase

Every morning for the past few weeks I have been reading a little bit of the Koran.  I had bought the book a few years back and it has sat on my shelf, traveled the world with me even, and somehow remained mostly unread.  Lately though, I have been making an attempt at doing the things I have always said I am going to do.

I will be honest, the Koran is mostly really boring, especially when you start out.  Although, I have to admit as I am writing this right now; I realize that I am beginning to enjoy it a little more the longer I read.

The point though, the point is that there is this really great sura in the Koran that I feel a lot more people should be talking about.  It seems like the kind of thing someone should have brought up ten years ago to rebuke all the hatred being shot between Christians and Muslims.  It seems also like something appropriate to be noticed today; ten years after the attacks that changed the world.

SURA CIX–UNBELIEVERS

Mecca.–6 Verses

In the Name of God, the Compassionate, the Merciful

Say: O ye UNBELIEVERS!  I worship not that which ye worship, and ye do not worship that which I worship; I shall never worship that which ye worship, neither will ye worship that which I worship.  To you be your religion; to me my religion.

And those my friends, those are words I can live by.  May you as well become more open-minded and accepting of differences in the world.

 

