Notes On Breaking-up

by Jase

I was in like 5th grade the first time someone broke my heart. One week we were at the county fair and she agreed to be my girlfriend. The next week she told me that she liked us better as just friends, okay? And I said okay because I didn’t know how to tell her that it wasn’t. But in retrospect, none of that really matters and we just look back and smile and laugh.

This though, this is real because now I’m 24 and “relationships” actually matter, at least they do to me.

But it just seems that I keep making the same mistakes and completing the same patterns. I trust my heart and not my head, as cliche as that sounds, its true. The problem is that I also know at some point you have to take a leap of trust. I guess I’m just not that good at determining where the fine line exists though, the line between asshole and trustworthy.

So, kid, don’t compromise too much next time, okay? Don’t trust so easily, okay? Don’t keep making the same mistakes, okay?

But all those “okays” just sound like the okay that she said at the end of her sentence all those years ago one week after the county fair. And the truth of the matter, just as it was back then; it really isn’t.

Okay.

