Finding Happiness Everywhere

by Jase

The problem with living abroad and traveling regularly, at least for me, is that I find myself wanting to live and go everywhere. It has gotten to the point where my friends make fun of me and call me out before I even inevitably make the comment, “wow, wouldn’t it be nice to have a house here!” or “lets all move to [insert place here] and get an apartment together.”

I recently spent three weeks traveling around my home country, the United States. While in Northern California I found myself fantasizing about opening a winery in Napa, getting a job in San Francisco, or going to school at Berkley. Then I flew down to Southern California and I started to think about sharing an apartment with my buddy Nate, finding work in the Inland Empire, or looking for opportunities in San Diego. But then I went to Vegas and I thought about the endless opportunities I could find there. So it was with Chicago and also when I visited my family in Michigan.

I guess the point is, that I love everywhere. I’m happy everywhere I go.

I guarantee you when I travel to Dubai and the Maldives in a couple weeks, I will go through the same thought processes all over again. Just yesterday I found myself looking at my friend’s pictures of Istanbul and thinking about how much I love that city and how wonderful it would be to live there.

I could also go on and on and tell you about how much I liked Berlin, Lyon, Asuncion, Cairo and a myriad of other places throughout the world.

Really, I’m certain I could find contentment and happiness almost anywhere I go. Seriously, try to prove me wrong! Throw some places at me and please, don’t think you’ll be clever by saying Iran, Saudi Arabia or Iraq. Because I have definitely researched visiting and living in all of those places . . .

The point is though, that happiness and contentment is a mindset. It isn’t about a place, an object, a person, or even a feeling. It is an attitude, and in a big part, that attitude is a decision. Yes, it can be affected by external forces outside of our control, believe me, I have gone through the therapy to understand that. However, at the end of the day, we choose how we approach our lives.

And today, and hopefully everyday, I choose to be happy. I choose to find contentment wherever I am and in whatever circumstances I find myself.

Because frankly my lovelies, life is awesome and this world of ours; it is quite beautiful.

الجمال

IMG_5087

