Winter road trip to Baalbek

by Jason

Jason in Beirut

Baalbek is one of my favorite places in Lebanon, and my favorite historic site in the world. Since I moved to Lebanon in 2012, I have visited the incredible ruins multiple times but I have always ridden in friends’ cars or taken taxis.

This past weekend, I wanted to show some of my friends this amazing place, so I rented a car and decided to drive. Baalbek is located in the Bekaa, which is one of those places that most governments and a lot of Lebanese will caution you against visiting. I’m not going to say that it’s completely safe, obviously there is a reason for the concern. However, personally, I have never had an experience even remotely sketchy when going to Baalbek or anywhere in the Bekaa region.

Visiting Baalbek in winter was a new experience, as I’ve always gone only in spring or summer before. The snow covering…

View original post 28 more words

